Aussies moving to France VS Frenchies moving to Australia

This month we hear from our guest blogger Aleks about her experience of living in France, compared with her French friend’s experience of living in Melbourne. Ce n’est pas pareil !

Perhaps the primary reason I chose to attend the University of Melbourne was its stellar exchange program, as I’ve wanted to do a semester abroad ever since I was a tween. At the beginning of 2014, I was able to make this dream come true – I spent a semester in Lyon, France. Without a doubt, my time in Europe was the most incredible experience of my life. Although I’ve fantasised about living in Paris ever since I saw the film, Ratatouille, as a child, Lyon was definitely the right choice for me. It’s the second biggest city in France, a student town, with the French Alps adjacent and most importantly, Lyon felt more authentically French to me compared to Paris. I saw very few tourists, and the locals only spoke French to me, as few could actually speak English. I was thrust into French life.

Ratatouille

An Australian in France

My goal for my 4 months in France was to dramatically improve my French, so Lyon was perfect for this. However, I also found this the most difficult aspect of adjusting to life in France. Getting around day to day was fine; I very quickly learned how to converse in supermarkets and restaurants. Yet I was never taught how to, for example, read a rent contract IN FRENCH, or purchase housing insurance IN FRENCH, or set up a bank account IN FRENCH. I managed to overcome all this tiresome administration with a combination of broken franglais, desperate google translating, entreating other staff for help, and using way too many embarrassing hand signals.

bureaucratie

Besides the absurdity of France’s administration (seriously, it took me over an hour to open a bank account because I had to sign roughly 800,000 forms), it didn’t take me long to learn the customs. Another positive of choosing a smaller city in France is that I didn’t suffer chronic sticker shock. I very quickly got used to the low price of alcohol. However I did suffer from poor-quality shock: the majority of the fruits and vegetables in the supermarkets and Sunday markets were imported from either Spain or South America. I went 4 months without a single avocado because those in the supermarket came frozen from Chile and despite their firmness, were brown or rotten inside. I also never fully became accustomed to how dangerous France can be. To be fair, I was living in a not-so-savoury neighbourhood, but even still, I was often harassed by groups of young men on the street, in the metro station, even in the supermarket. Furthermore, I, along with most of my friends, were pick-pocketed. Luckily by this point my French had improved enough that I was able to complete a police report IN FRENCH. It was a proud moment.

colour_rosetta

A Frenchie in Australia

I work at a cafe in Toorak and I’m lucky enough to work with a Frenchie there, with whom I can practice French conversation. I asked Hugo Tisseyre, 22, from Montpellier about his experience of getting settled into Melbourne life. As it turns out, his experience was the complete opposite to mine. In terms of the language barrier, his English was excellent before he arrived, but he found that if he ever had any problems, Aussies were very accommodating. Because it was so easy to find an apartment and move in, he never had any major issues with administrative jargon. I’m jealous. He struggled most with the prices in Melbourne. When he first arrived, he felt like he was breaking the bank even when buying basics like bread at the supermarket, and when he saw how disgracefully overpriced alcohol is, I’m sure that was an oh la la moment. Hugo and I share a love of 2 euro wine, and unfortunately for us, that is a mere memory. But Hugo and I both agree that we feel supremely safer in Australia than France. He’s amazed that he has not been pick-pocketed or threatened in the 18 months he’s lived here. Lastly, Hugo said Australians are far warmer, kinder and easier to approach than the French, which made his transition to life in Australia very smooth. This is certainly a credit to the Aussie spirit.

By Aleksandra Bliszczysk

Peut-être la raison principale que j’ai choisi d’assister à l’Université de Melbourne était son programme d’échange excellent, parce que j’ai voulu faire un semestre à l’étranger depuis que j’étais un pré-ado. Au début de 2014, j’ai réalisé ce rêve – j’ai passé un semestre à Lyon, France. Sans aucun doute, mon temps en Europe était l’expérience la plus incroyable de ma vie. Bien que j’aie rêvé de vivre à Paris depuis que j’ai vu le film, Ratatouille, quand j’étais enfant, Lyon était certainement le bon choix pour moi. Il est la deuxième plus grande ville de France, une ville étudiante, les Alpes françaises sont adjacentes et, surtout, Lyon semblait plus authentiquement français par rapport à Paris. Je ne voyais pas beaucoup de touristes, et les habitants me parlaient tous français, car la plupart ne parlaient pas anglais. On m’a poussé dans la vie française.

 Une Australienne en France

Mon objectif pour mes quatre mois à Lyon était d’améliorer considérablement mon français, donc Lyon était parfait pour cela. Cependant, j’ai aussi trouvé la langue l’aspect le plus difficile de la vie en France. La conversation quotidienne était facile, j’ai très vite appris à converser dans les supermarchés et les restaurants, mais je n’ai jamais appris à, par exemple, lire un contrat de location EN FRANÇAIS, ou comment acheter une assurance habitation EN FRANÇAIS, ou comment ouvrir un compte bancaire EN FRANÇAIS. J’ai surmonté toute cette administration fastidieuse avec une combinaison de franglais cassé, désespérément en utilisant la traduction Google, en suppliant d’autres membres du personnel de l’aide et l’utilisation de trop de gestes embarrassants.

Outre l’absurdité de l’administration de la France (en fait, il m’a fallu plus d’une heure pour ouvrir un compte bancaire parce que je devais signer environ 800 000 formulaires), il ne m’a pas fallu longtemps pour apprendre les coutumes. Un autre point positif de choisir une plus petite ville en France, c’est que je n’ai pas souffert de “sticker shock” chronique. Et j’ai très vite pris l’habitude du prix bas de l’alcool. Cependant j’ai été choquée par la mauvaise qualité de certaines nourritures en France. La plupart des fruits et légumes dans les supermarchés et les marchés était importée de l’Espagne ou l’Amérique du Sud. J’ai duré quatre mois sans un seul avocat parce que ceux dans le supermarché étaient importés, gelés, du Chili et malgré leur fermeté, étaient bruns ou pourris à l’intérieur. En plus, je ne me suis jamais totalement habituée au danger en France. Pour être juste, j’habitais dans un mauvais quartier, mais quand même, j’ai été souvent harcelée par des groupes de jeunes hommes dans la rue, dans le métro, même dans le supermarché. En outre, avec la plupart de mes amis, j’ai été victime de pickpockets. Heureusement à ce moment-là mon français s’est amélioré tel que j’étais en mesure de remplir un rapport de police EN FRANÇAIS. C’était un moment de victoire.

 Un Français en Australie

Aujourd’hui, je travaille dans un café à Toorak et j’ai la chance d’y travailler avec un Français, avec qui je peux pratiquer la conversation française. J’ai parlé à Hugo Tisseyre, 22 ans, de Montpellier, à propos de son expérience de s’installer dans la vie Melbournienne. En fait, son expérience était tout le contraire de la mienne. En termes de la barrière de la langue, son anglais était excellent avant son arrivée, mais il a constaté que s’il avait des problèmes, les Australiens étaient très accommodants, et parce que c’était facile à trouver et louer un appartement, il n’a jamais eu de problèmes majeurs avec le jargon administratif. Je suis jalouse. Il a lutté plus avec les prix à Melbourne. Quand il est arrivé, il se sentait qu’il se brisait la banque, même quand il a acheté des produits de bases comme le pain au supermarché. Et quand il a vu les prix honteux de l’alcool, je suis sûr que c’était un moment “oh la la”. Hugo et moi partageons un amour du vin € 2, et malheureusement pour nous, ce n’est qu’un souvenir. Hugo et moi sommes d’accord que nous nous nous sentons extrêmement sûr en Australie que la France. Il est étonné qu’il n’a pas rencontré des pickpockets ou été menacé dans les 18 mois qu’il habite ici. Enfin, Hugo dit que les Australiens sont beaucoup plus sympathiques, plus aimables et plus faciles à aborder que les Français, ce qui a fait de sa transition vers la vie en Australie une expérience très lisse. C’est certainement un crédit à l’esprit Aussie.

Par Aleksandra Bliszczysk

Photo credits:

1. Ratatouille, 2007.

2. Contrepoints.org

3. Visit Melbourne

About frenchatmelbourne

Students, alumni and friends of the Melbourne University French Studies Network

Leave a Reply

