What French means for me: Ilaria O’Brien

Our October guest blogger, University of Melbourne student Ilaria O’Brien, shares her personal experience of learning French in Melbourne and of living in France. 

In an old house in Paris that was covered with vines,

Lived twelve little girls in two straight lines

They left the house at half past nine…

The smallest one was Madeline.

For as long as I can remember, Madeline had always been my favourite childhood television show. I do not know whether it was the accordion playing in the opening title, or the images of the Parisian streetscapes, or the French accents, but my mother has since suggested that Madeline had some kind of subliminal effect on me at an early age: turning me into the full-fledged Francophile that I now am.

Madeline

Many years later, after studying French throughout high school and going on exchange to Lyon, I was finishing my second semester of university and was itching to go back to France; a condition I have since learnt is known as untreated francophilia. I cured this ailment by deferring my university degree and moving to France for a year to work as an au pair. At the age of 19, I found myself living in the outskirts of Paris, responsible for three young children and a puppy. This was by no means an easy task, but the cultural marvels that France has to offer far outweighed any societal barrier that I was faced with. The language, the food, the landscapes, the history, the people – everything was just so enchanting.

CCFS Paris

Since returning, I have thrown myself into every possible avenue that would allow me to maintain the level of French that I gained while abroad. Volunteering with the Melbourne French Theatre, working at a French food store, tutoring high school students, involving myself with the French Club at university as well as helping out with the Alliance Française film festival.

Meanwhile I have been completing the French major at Melbourne University in which I have recently taken the electives: French Translation, French Travel Writing and The Origins of the Novel – and I can highly recommend them all! Upon graduating, I hope to combine French with my studies in Media Communications and perhaps pursue a career in international marketing or public relations… or alternatively, open an authentic fromagerie here in Melbourne. On ne sait jamais !

By Ilaria O’Brien

D’aussi loin que je me souvienne, Madeline* était toujours mon émission de télé préférée quand j’étais petite. Je ne sais pas si c’était grâce à l’accordéon entendu durant le générique, ou les images des rues parisiennes, ou leurs petits accents français, mais depuis, ma mère a suggéré que Madeline a eu un effet subliminal sur moi à un âge précoce, me faisant devenir la vraie francophile que je suis aujourd’hui.

Des années plus tard, après avoir étudié le français tout au long du lycée et avoir fait un échange à Lyon, je finissais mon deuxième semestre à l’université et j’avais très envie de retourner en France. Je me suis alors décidée à différer mes études et déménager en France pour un an afin de travailler comme fille au pair. A l’âge de 19 ans, je me suis trouvée à la périphérie de Paris, responsable de 3 petits enfants et un chiot. Ceci n’était pas du tout une fonction facile, mais les merveilles culturelles que la France pouvait m’offrir étaient beaucoup plus importantes que les difficultés sociétales auxquelles je devais faire face. La langue, la nourriture, les paysages, l’histoire, le peuple – tout était tellement remarquable.

Depuis que je suis rentrée, je me suis plongée avec enthousiasme dans tous les domaines possibles qui me permettaient de maintenir le niveau de français que j’avais atteint en France. Faire du bénévolat avec le Théâtre Français de Melbourne, travailler chez une épicerie française, donner des cours particuliers aux lycéens, m’investir dans le Club de Français à l’université, ainsi qu’aider avec le festival du film de l’Alliance Française.

Pendant ce temps, je continuais à faire un majeur en français à l’Université de Melbourne, où j’ai récemment fait les matières : French Translation, French Travel Writing et Origins of the Novel – et je peux les recommander vivement ! Une fois diplômée, j’aimerais allier le français avec mes études en Media et Communications, et poursuivre peut être une carrière dans le marketing international ou bien les relations publiques… sinon ; j’ouvrirai une fromagerie authentique ici à Melbourne. On ne sait jamais !

Par Ilaria O’Brien

*Madeline est le personnage fictif qui vient de l’imagination de Ludwig Bemelmen, un auteur autrichien. Ses histoires racontent les aventures d’une petite fille et ses onze compagnons qui habitent dans un pensionnat à Paris. Les histoires ont été adaptées en série de télévision pendant les années 90, et c’est là où tout a commencé pour moi !

About frenchatmelbourne

Students, alumni and friends of the Melbourne University French Studies Network

One comment

  1. Pingback: Adieu et bonjour! | French at Melbourne

Leave a Reply

